2011 Resolutions

NOTE: I typed this up ages ago and then let it sit around while I never edited it. Since it’s never a bad time to set some goals and work toward them, I’m still posting it. I look forward to updating regularly, some how or some way because I’ve failed miserably so far this year.

It’s that time of year again where everyone puts together plans for the new year and sets a gamut of unachievable goals. Yes, I’m guilty of it, too. In fact, I started thinking of things subconsciously before I even put a name to it.

But this year, I think I’m going to do something different. I’ve picked several areas of my life where I want to make improvements and/or changes. So I have a list of major areas where I want to tackle things. As I was thinking about it. I really decided that since the general goals don’t seem to work well for me, perhaps it was best to break down this big things into smaller pieces and perhaps work on implementing two things at a time until I met all the goals on my list. I’m hoping these smaller pieces will be easier to accomplish and I may even break down some of them to smaller to make it all more manageable.

So here’s my list. I am going to pick three of these to start off with and then move on from there.

Health/Exercise

  • Do sit ups, push ups & squats daily – preferably in the morning.
  • Do at least one 10 minute exercise routine a day
  • Lose weight (about 60 lbs) – This one has to wait to later in the year because I’ve found that if I cut too many calories, my breastmilk supply suffers.

Writing

  • Write 100 words every day – Something small to get me back in the habit of writing. It can be any mix of fiction or non fiction.
  • Attend the AW Science Fiction/Fantasy chats when they are held.
  • Do the AW Chat Flash Fiction Challenge on Sundays.

Personal Time

  • Go out once a month, be it date night or a girls’ night.
  • Get two hours of reading/writing time at least once a month, all alone.

House & Home

  • Plan and carry out meal plans and freezer cooking – It will save time and money during the week when I don’t get home until late and don’t want to spend the whole evening cooking like I do now.
  • Organize the house and create a cleaning plan – I’ve been building up to this, mostly using the Flylady’s routines. I’m working on modifying them to better work in our household.

Time with Kids

  • Get out and do more with them – Right now I feel so house-bound because I’m constantly trying to get caught up on housework and such, so I’m going to work on getting that stuff taken care of so we can do more fun things together.

These are the things I want to accomplish this year, so to start off right, these three things are going to be the focus for most of January/February:

  • Do sit ups, push ups & squats daily – preferably in the morning.
  • Write 100 words every day – Something small to get me back in the habit of writing. It can be any mix of fiction or non fiction.
  • Plan and carry out meal plans and freezer cooking – It will save time and money during the week when I don’t get home until late and don’t want to spend the whole evening cooking like I do now.

These are the things I’m going to focus on for the first couple of month, which will hopefully be enough time to make them habit. Around March, I’ll start on something else. I’m hoping to tackle everything by the end of the year.

Be on the lookout for further updates of my 2011 resolutions.

